TRAVEL – William R. Benet




TRAVEL

Originally uploaded by rangamchiru

TRAVEL

You and I dreaming
Planned the far-away,
Cities and hedgerows,
Distant summer day,
When, the sun sinking,–
But oh, a distant sun!–
We would be thinking,
“Think what we have done!”

You and I whispering
Held the isles in fee
By a chain of grasses,
By your smile to me,
Visioning some clime–
But long years between–
When we should say, sometime,
“Think what we have seen!”

You and I wondering
Of our old age,
Turned a page pondering,
And turned a page …
Now, my hands pluck ravelled
Strands I can’t untie.
Yet–you always travelled
Farther than I!

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

